Book recommendations, News

Speech Pathology Australia Book of the Year Awards 2016

October 24, 2016

Talented Australian children’s writers and illustrators were honoured on 13 October at the 2016 Speech Pathology Australia (SPA) Book of the Year awards held at State Library of Queensland.

The awards were judged against criteria in oral language and literacy development to promote quality Australian books that help children develop strong literacy foundations – according to their age group.

Some of Australia’s best known and loved creators of children’s books were presented with their awards alongside some up-and-coming writers and illustrators.

Winners of the coveted awards include Renée Treml, Raewyn Caisley, Karen Blair, Chris Collin, Nick Earls and Kay Crabbe.

The pinnacle Hall of Fame Award was awarded to Alison Lester, well known for her popular children’s books Imagine, Are we there yet? and Clive Eats Alligators. The award recognises her significant and sustained contribution to Australian children’s literature’s Language and Literature Award and inducted into the Speech Pathology Australia’s Book of the Year Hall of Fame.

The winners include:


Birth to 3 years: Once I Heard a Little Wombat by Renée Treml


Three to 5 years: Something Wonderful by Raweyn Caisley (Illustrated by Karen Blair)


Five to 8 years: Funky Chicken: Chooks in Space by Chris Collin (Illustrations by Megan Kitchin)\


Eight to 10 years: New Boy by Nick Earls


Indigenous children: The Pearl-shell Diver by Kay Crabbe


Book of the Year Hall of Fame: Alison Lester (pictured with First 5 Forever consultant speech pathologist, Kylie Webb)